Skip to content

Magic

June 21, 2011

Last night, as I flew out of work and hurried across town to pick up my son for baseball, I started sniffling.

While I was sitting in the park, watching his game, I started sneezing. A lot.

By the time I got home my head was on the verge of exploding. I was coughing and my throat – it hurt.

And today I’m home from work, feeling terrible not only because of this sneezing and coughing and nose blowing and body aching, but also because I had to use a day of my vacation in order to stay home. I despise using vacation days when I’m sick. I would much rather use them… for vacation!

So here I sit. Wallowing in a cold medicine haze of self-pity. And eating ice cream.

Do you have a food that you allow yourself to eat for breakfast, lunch, and dinner when you’re sick? My son prefers buttered noodles with parmesan. My husband likes those weird dehydrated packets of soup that you add hot water to. I choose ice cream.

Obviously, I was much too under the weather to drive my very scary looking, red-nosed, self to the store to buy ice cream. Obviously, I am not up to the task of cooking an ice cream batter with egg yolks and hot stoves and just writing about it is too much effort. So this morning, I sat in bed and googled “ice cream with no eggs,” and “no cook ice cream” and “magic ice cream that will heal me and will not require standing or stirring or thinking” and one of those searches turned up this: brown sugar ice cream. With no eggs. That requires no standing, stirring, or thinking.

Does this ice cream have 3 cups of heavy cream in it? Yes, it does. But I am sick and need ice cream with magical healing powers, and I’m pretty sure that’s one of heavy cream’s greatest characteristics.

Look at this picture – obviously I need to end this post now so that you can move on with your day and make this ice cream. It’s divine.

Brown Sugar Ice Cream

Adapted from this super cute site

  • 3 cups heavy cream
  • 1 1/2 cups whole milk
  • 1 1/4 cups lightly packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla bean paste
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

In a large bowl or stand mixer, whisk ingredients together until well combined. Process in ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s directions. Freeze for at least two hours before serving.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 26, 2011 10:31 am

    Homemade ice cream?!! Best mom ever! 🙂

Leave a Reply

