Skip to content

Words fail me

May 25, 2011

I made this granola forever ago, and then I made it again. I’ve been meaning to tell you about it, but I can think of no poetic phrases, witty quips, or profound statements to make about this granola. Also, I’m not in love with these pictures. Maybe I need a macro lens. Maybe my birthday’s coming up. Maybe my husband’s reading this post….

But I digress: I just want you to make this.

It’s fantastic. And not difficult to execute. Toss together any combination of rolled whole grains (oat, barley, rye, spelt, whatever!) with coconut, wheat bran, and nuts (don’t use walnuts. I used them the first time. Not wonderful. The second time I used sliced almonds. WONDERFUL.).

Reduce some maple syrup, stir in some butter, and toss with the grains. Cook in the oven until the mixture goes from looking like this:

To looking like this:

Add in some dried fruit (blueberries are the best!).

And you’re done! Done. And. Done.

Maple Granola

Adapted from Good to the Grain

  • 3 cups rolled grains (I have used combinations of oats and barley)
  • 2 cups nuts (as I stated above, the walnuts just did not work. Almonds did. I’ve love to try pecans, but they’re not cheap.)
  • 2 cups shredded coconut (the recipe calls for unsweetened, which is impossible to find around these parts. Sweetened works just fine.)
  • 1/2 cup wheat bran (for you gluten-intolerants out there: I think this could be omitted without issue, although I have not tested this theory.)
  • 1 cup pure maple syrup (REAL maple syrup, not Mrs. Butterworth’s!)
  • 1/2 stick salted butter
  • Heaping 1/2 tsp kosher salt (maybe even 3/4 tsp if you’re using sweetened coconut.)
  • 1 1/2 cups dried fruit (I prefer blueberries)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Butter two large (half-sheet) baking pans.

Toss together grains, nuts, coconut and wheat bran in a large bowl.

Reduce syrup over medium-high heat. Once syrup begins simmering, cook for an additional 5 minutes (syrup will reduce to approximately 3/4 cup). Stir in butter and salt until butter is completely melted.

Working quickly, add syrup to grain mixture and stir until grains are thoroughly coated with syrup. Spread mixture in a single layer on the baking pans. The mixture should still have a lot of clumps.

Bake for 15 minutes. Remove pans from oven, gently stir mixture. Rotate pans when returning to the oven. Check after 10 minutes, stirring and rotating again if needed. Cook granola for 30-35 minutes, until evenly browned.

Let granola cool completely. Add dried fruit. Store in an airtight container for up to two weeks.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

